Kubb United

We are all on the same team


Kubb United is partnering with Beloit Parks & Leisure Services and Visit Beloit to present the 2018 U.S. Kubb Open.  Concessions will be provided by the Beloit Youth Hockey Association and will include beer.  We'd also like to thank Platinum Level sponsor DuPont for their generous donation and Gold Level sponsor JP's Backyard Games for providing the kubb sets.

The tournament will take place on Saturday, August 11, 2018, at Riverside Park.  Registration begins at 7:30AM, an all-team meeting is at 8:30AM and play starts at 9:00AM.

The tournament will be 2-person only teams.  We welcome teams from anywhere in the world.  Please register by filling out the form below and clicking "Pay Now".  The cost is $40 per team.

We are going to paint every pitch (weather permitting) and use the Kubb United Rules for Open Play.  There will be 7 qualifying rounds of single games each having a 25-minute time limit.  After that the top 16 teams will be seeded in the championship qualifying bracket.  In the championship qualifying bracket, teams will play best 2 out of 3 matches with the 8 winning teams going to the Championship Bracket and the 8 losing teams to the Consolation A Bracket.  Teams 17-48 will be seeded in the Consolation B bracket, and teams 49-64 will be in the Consolation C Bracket.  All consolation matches are single games with a 30-minute time limit.

Location: Riverside Park, 1160 Riverside Drive, Beloit, WI, 53511 (map)

Friday, August 10th – Practice & Social
Practice and friendlies all day at Riverside Park. Weather permitting, the pitches will all be painted. Social and kubb friendlies at The Rock Bar & Grill starting at 6:00PM.
Saturday, August 11th – U.S. Kubb Open
Check in before 8:30AM for the 2017 U.S. Kubb Open. All-team meeting at 8:30AM with play beginning at 9:00AM.
Sunday, August 12th – U.S. Kubb Open 1v1 Championship
Free 1v1 tournament for anyone who wants to play. Play begins at 9:00AM and ends at noon.

Cash payouts will be awarded to the top 8 teams in the Championship Bracket and the top 2 teams in the Consolation A Bracket.  We will be giving away 75% of the registration fees out in cash prizes.  Kubb United board members are not eligible to win cash prizes.  Any cash prizes Kubb United board members win will be put into a Community Fund for granting money to kubb clubs around the country.

During the matches throughout the day, active referees will be officiating matches as coverage allows.  Visit Beloit will also be running a Rock, Paper, Scissors tournament throughout the day.

Tournament Director: Evan Fitzgerald

Head of Officiating: Josh Feathers

L2 Referees: Jesse Fraim and Lynn Saegert

Saturday Schedule:
7:30 - 8:30 - Check in and practice
8:30 - All-Team Meeting
9:00 -  1st qualifying round begins
9:35 -  2nd qualifying round begins
10:10 - 3rd qualifying round begins
10:45 - 4th qualifying round begins
11:20 - 5th qualifying round begins
11:55 - 12:30 - Lunch Break
12:30 - 6th qualifying round begins
1:05 -    7th qualifying round begins
1:45 - Championship & Consolation bracket play begins

Championship Bracket Play - Best 2 out of 3 matches with no time limit
Consolation Bracket Play - 1 game matches with 30-minute time limits

As a thank you to all the players, Kubb United is putting on a free 1v1 tournament that will take place on Sunday, August 12, 2018, at Riverside Park.  This tournament is open to anyone who would like to play.  Just enter your email and name below and click "Signup".  Arrive anytime in the morning and play starts at 9:00AM.  We will play 6 rounds of 25-minute games using the Klassic Format spreadsheet.  The top 3 players at the end of the 6 rounds will receive medals.  This will get us done by noon so those with longer drives can get on the road.

Sunday Schedule:
8:45 - Tournament meeting
9:00 - 1st qualifying round begins
9:30 - 2nd qualifying round begins
10:00 - 3rd qualifying round begins
10:30 - 4th qualifying round begins
11:00 - 5th qualifying round begins
11:30 - 6th qualifying round begins

Sunday - Free
U.S. Kubb Open
1v1 Championship

Saturday - $40
U.S. Kubb Open
Team Registration

Team Name
Both Team Member Names
Name *

Registered Teams for Saturday U.S. Kubb Open

  1. Joe Hrejsa & J.R. Hrejsa (MI Kubb Snipers) - Michigan
  2. Ben Brenton & Mike Brenton (Mike and Son) - Illinois
  3. Tommy MacClave & Frank Sharp (...The Bad and the Ugly) - New Jersey
  4. Matt Green & Cody Glorioso (We Let You Win) - Wisconsin
  5. Matt Doan & Phil Dickinson (Inkastaways) - Michigan
  6. Kurt Erstad & Jake Erstad (One More Baton) - Wisconsin
  7. Wayne Fell & James Hensen (Feeling Kubby) - Wisconsin
  8. Diane Sparkman, Jody Gennrich, Diane Fossum  (Kubb Nips) - Wisconsin
  9. Mark Dvorak & Brian Dusek (The Stlanley Kubbrick Experience) - Illinois
  10. JM Sparkman & Todd Fossum (Kubb Hogs) - Wisconsin
  11. Steve Feathers & Stephanie Kidder & Sue Feathers (Kubb'd) - Iowa
  12. Christopher Jones & Kyle Weakland (Kubb On: Tour) - Minnesota/Virginia
  13. Ethan Forney & Grant Scott (TBD) - Minnesota/Iowa
  14. Pat Rupp & Brian Winistorfer (Strike Force) - Iowa/Wisconsin
  15. Ben Lancette  & Barb Lancette - Minnesota
  16. Laura Bushek & Alisha Pleotis  (Valkyrie) - Wisconsin
  17. Nick Keller & Kathy Wellnitz (Shoot to Drill) - Wisconsin
  18. Kelly Pallesen & Chole Day  (Chlolly) - Wisconsin
  19. Emily Ruffini & Celestino Ruffini (TBD) - Wisconsin
  20. Matt Bosen & Jeff Vohs (Executive Session) - Wisconsin
  21. Bob Hickes & Jake Leavitt (Kubbstaches) - Pennsylvania
  22. Michelle Fitzgerald & JeannieAnn Parma (Blockheads) - Illinois
  23. Braden Fitzgerald & Cole Carlson - (Hodge Podge) - Iowa
  24. Dupont Sponsor Reserve 1
  25. Dupont Sponsor Reserve 2
  26. Dupont Sponsor Reserve 3
  27. Dupont Sponsor Reserve 4
  28. Dupont Sponsor Reserve 5
  29. Dupont Sponsor Reserve 6
  30. Dupont Sponsor Reserve 7
  31. Dupont Sponsor Reserve 8
  32. Greg Beyer & Nick Beyer (Norman's All Stars) - Wisconsin
  33. Chad Bevers & Lars Arneson (Gameday Sports Bar) - Wisconsin
  34. Jeff Merryfield & Derek Berger (Kubb Life) - Wisconsin
  35. Dan Ivanuck & Owen Ivanuck (Corn On the Kubb) - Illinois
  36. Dave Ellringer & Sy Ellringer (el ringers) - Wisconsin
  37. Lee Wangberg & Rachel Metke (Block Knockers) - Wisconsin
  38. Amanda Pool & Jared Pool (Dillon Panthers) - Iowa
  39. Andy Terveer & Brad Vock (Must Be Nailed Down) - Illinois

Registered Players for Sunday - U.S. Kubb Open 1v1 Championship

  1. Joe Hrejsa
  2. J.R. Hrejsa
  3. Ben Brenton
  4. Matt Green
  5. Matt Doan
  6. Phil Dickinson
  7. Evan Fitzgerald
  8. Christopher Jones
  9. Kyle Weakland
  10. Grant Scott
  11. Benjamin Lancette
  12. Laura Bushek
  13. Kathy Wellnitz
  14. Jesse Fraim
  15. Pat Rupp
  16. Dan Ivanuck
  17. Rachel Metke

Powered by Squarespace.  Background image by Erich Olsen.  Kubb United logos by Josh Feathers.